Jazz Radio Promotion since 1991

Offering the most thorough and effective Jazz Radio Promotion campaigns available since 1991.

Steve Khan Backlog

On Steve’s CD, “PARTING SHOT”(2011)–Steve reassembled Eyewitness and set out to conjoin the looseness of their improvisations, while adhering to the tenets of Latin music and the all-important clave. “SUBTEXT”(2014) was the title of Steve’s next recording, and again, there was a subtitle in Spanish, “Subtexto en Azul.” On the album, Steve continued his explorations of the wondrous traditions of Latin music. Fans that enjoyed both “PARTING SHOT” and “SUBTEXT,” will surely love “BACKLOG”!

“BACKLOG”, of course, has a subtitle in Spanish, “Asuntos Pendientes.” On this album, really the 3rd in a series, Steve continues to expand the potential of the guitar in the context of Latin music, and here, the core group features: Rubén Rodríguez, Bobby Allende, Marc Quiñones, and joined for the  first time by Mark Walker on Drums. A series of old and dear friends, respected colleagues as guest artists added so much to the music, including: Rob Mounsey, Randy Brecker, Mike Mainieri, Bob Mintzer, and Tatiana Parra. In all, they perform Steve’s arrangements of compositions by: Thelonious Monk, Greg Osby, Ornette Coleman, Bobby Hutcherson, and Andrew Hill. The recording features two gorgeous ballads: “Our Town” written by Steve’s father, Sammy Cahn and Jimmy Van Heusen, and “Emily” (Johnny Mandel-Johnny Mercer). Perhaps the great surprise of the album is the incredible interpretation of Stevie Wonder’s “Go Home.

1) Criss Cross (Entrecruzado) (Thelonious Monk) (5:45)

2) Concepticus in C (Greg Osby) (5:38)

3) Latin Genetics (Genética Latina) (Ornette Coleman) (8:05)

4) Our Town (Nuestro Pueblo (Sammy Cahn-Jimmy Van Heusen) (7:10)

5) Head Start (Ventaja) (Bobby Hutcherson) (5:56)

6) Rojo (Bobby Hutcherson) (6:40)

7) Invisible (Ornette Coleman) (8:26)

8) Emily (Johnny Mandel-Johnny Mercer) (6:01)

9) Go Home (Vete a Casa) (Stevie Wonder) (7:53)

10) Catta (Andrew Hill) (8:29)

Personnel: Steve Khan: Guitar, Rubén Rodríguez: Baby Bass & Electric Bass, Mark Walker: Drums, Marc Quiñones: Timbal, Bongo, & Percussion, Bobby Allende: Conga; Bongo

Guest Artists: Randy Brecker: Trumpet [3], Bob Mintzer: Tenor Sax [7], Mike Mainieri: Vibes [5], Rob Mounsey: Keyboards [2][6][7] & [9]; Orchestrations [3] [6] & [10], Orchestral Arrangements on “Our Town” & “Emily” Tatiana Parra: Voice [10]

“No one plays or sounds like Steve Khan...He is the inquisitive jazz musician mastering the evasive art of reinvention and improvisation on his own terms, in his own time.”–James Nadal / AllAboutJazz.com

©2018 GROOV Marketing & Consulting

This jazz site is part of